top of page
Search

EXTRA CREDIT: Farewell Responses to SIX classmates

My Farewells:

Hi, Vivian. I had the same experience when revising my own essay. I also struggled at finding mistakes in my essay and I believe we have the same reasons as well. I think peer review really helped me a lot. After reading your feedback, I learned about some weaknesses in my essay and your advices about how to improve my essay are also super helpful!


Hi, JiayiI felt the same about when watching the Kilbourne's video. I originally know that advertisements have some impacts to our daily life, but it is still quite surprising to know how huge these impacts are. I encounter very similar problems when writing my essay as well. Sometimes I can't even realize that I write something that is off topic and the entire focus is distracted.


Hi, Tianai! I have exact same feeling as what you write in the section "Technical Problems in Writing" when writing my essay. I was once so confident because I think have written so many annotations, analyses and feedbacks. And my level of writing should be improved a lot already. But writing the essay brings me back to reality and I finds out that I still got so much skills to learn and improve.


Hi, Jialin. I very much agree with what you gained from the podcast project. I felt the same as well. I think the podcast really requires a lot of cooperation compared to a lot of other group projects in the past. Usually it is just everyone complete their own portion of work, but to finish a podcast, we need the entire group to be on the same line. And the final success really motivates me to participate in more group projects in the future.


Hi, Yifei. The podcast project also let me understand the importance of teamwork and collaboration. Compared some group project I did in the past, the podcast really requires a lot of cooperation between everyone instead of putting everyone's work together. My group has some differences in the overall opinion and we weren't as efficient as we expected ourselves to be.


Hi Chengheng! I has very similar experience with you when I just started to learn about Disney and gender roles. In the beginning, the idea was very blur and confusing and I was less motivated to do the assignments. After I gained enough knowledge about social construction on gender roles, I feel like everything went on very smoothly. Also I can feel how it is like to take class in China. Although I am in United States, I have been thinking about going back to China. But the jet leg an vpn issues is always my biggest concern.


Things I learned:

I have learned some many things after taking this quarter long writing class. I think I have practiced almost all the course objectives through various kind of assignments. My skills to understand different kinds of media has gotten better a lot after annotating videos, articles, movies and podcasts. I can now find out the focus of them much more quickly. I have also improved a lot on my writing skills, which includes both grammar and the ways to convey the central idea. I have done some many writing assignments this quarter that my skills improved without my awareness. Lastly, I have become a better team worker by doing the podcast project. I learned what it takes to become a better teammate, how to give better feedbacks, how to have the entire group on the same line.

Recent Posts

See All

Pre-Production Blog

We had our pre-production meeting on 2/15/2021 and it starts about 7pm and lasts 2 hours. Our group member includes me, Haoran, Yi and...

Comments


bottom of page